Ready, Launch, Aim: 2013 in Review

When I was in a small business training a few years ago, the instructor told us to say, “Ready, launch, aim,” meaning we should get ready, shoot, then figure everything out after we get it all up. That’s a little about what I’m doing here. I’m saying, as one of my favorite characters, Bobby Pendragon, says, “Hobey-ho, let’s go!”

2013 had a lot going for me. I returned from a two-year, full-time mission for my church, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, in Dallas, Texas. After getting home, I went straight to school at BYU where I was able to jump back into writing, figure out what I wanted to major in, and start working on my goals. In about October, I decided I wanted to get published on the e-book format. I wanted to try it out and see what happened. So, in December, I published Starchild’s Birth, beginning my first writing project, Saga of the Starbirds. Saga of the Starbirds is thirteen short stories, published serially from December 2013 to December 2014, that tell the story of extraterrestrial beings trying to figure out their new world that’s been created for them. I also began the idea for Ravenscroft Publishing.

This upcoming year of 2014 is going to be great. My theme for it is Defy Gravity, taken from the musical Wicked. I always try to figure out a theme for the year, which can guide me and uplift me. Hence, Defy Gravity. I’ll post more about how I’m going to defy gravity when 2014 actually gets here.

Back to ready, launch, aim. 2013 saw me ready to do what I wanted: get published. I launched it. I’m aiming for what exactly I want. I’m writing ferociously Saga of the Starbirds. I hope to finish it by the end of January, then work on editing, formatting, and publishing the stories so they’re ready for each month. I’m developing another serial short story series for 2015. And, I’m trying best how to fulfill my hopes for Ravenscroft Publishing. Stay tuned, as I aim and launch even more of my dreams into the world.

Leave a Reply

