Defy Gravity

This blog post has been a long time coming. I’m the type of person that keeps myself super busy, though, so I’m sorry that I don’t keep this updated as much as I should. I will do better.

This past semester at college has been my second semester. I took a big bite this semester. A bite that I’ve had to unhinge my mouth like a snake in order to take it all in. I’ve put some projects to the side, so I can focus on grades and schooling. I decided to take 9 credits of English (a 6 credit and a 3 credit class), which has left me reading between 100 and 200 pages every two days. On top of that, I have three other courses — I decided to do a lot with my schooling. It’s been a big bite, but big bites are sometimes good. The classes have been intellectually rewarding and I’ve learned a lot. However, the negative has been putting everything else, even my writing, to the back burner.

That’s all about to change.

I’ve had the itch to finish projects so I can begin new projects. As such, I’m going to work hard on finishing the Saga of the Starbirds. And, I’m going to be introducing some other projects near the end of the year, dealing with writing (of course) and religion. My faith and church are really important to me (heck, I’m going to a religiously sponsored university. It better be!). So, be on the look out for both of those.

My theme for this year has been “Defy Gravity.” I love the song Defying Gravity from the musical Wicked. To me, it speaks of going past the bar, rising above, and doing better than any you ever had. The German version of the song translates “defying gravity” to “frei und schwerelos” — free and weightless. I like that. Being free to move about, weightless, able to move swiftly and softly. I’ve tried to focus on that this year. Going above, beyond, and being able to do so in a free-like manner.

To defy gravity, I started the Starbirds Project. I really, really, really want to be able to finish that project this year. I hit a snag in the middle of the third story, Starfrost’s Sunrise, but I’m working through that snag. Right now, the forecast for publication is late April/early May. Starfrost’s Sunrise is the end of the prologue trilogy and should open up the rest of the short story series. The end goal of Starbirds is to collect all the stories into a paperback novel that can be bought via Amazon CreateSpace (print-on-demand services) — with some bonus features and extra stories added. We’ll see if I can finish it by the end of summer. Here’s hopin’!

I will work on being more diligent with this whole website and blog idea. If ever you feel like sharing my stories, I do love that. I’m a self-published author, so…I need some word of mouth marketing.

Leave a Reply

